Planning Department Banner, This link takes you back to home page
Housing Advisory Commission (HAC)

The Housing Advisory Commission (HAC) is made up of ten members: two from each District and appointed by each County Supervisor. The HAC holds regular meetings generally on the first Wednesday of each odd-numbered month of the year (January, March, May, etc.), or as otherwise shown in the current HAC Work Plan.

Regular meetings are held in the Planning Department Large Conference Room at 701 Ocean St., 4th Floor. The HAC advises the Board on housing policy and related matters, as provided in Chapter 2.94 of the Santa Cruz County Code. The Housing Division of the Planning Department provides staff support to the HAC.

The current Housing Advisory Commissioners are:

1st District: John Flaniken, Sibley Simon (Chair)
2nd District: Bud Carney, Katharine Minott
3rd District: Reed Geisreiter, Darius Mohsenin
4th District: Rose Marie McNair, John Skillicorn (Vice-Chair)
5th District: Bryan Chambers, Kent Washburn

To contact the HAC, please call (831) 454-2332 or email

For more information on Santa Cruz County Commissions, Committees, and Advisory Bodies, click here.

HAC Meetings Agendas, Minutes, and meeting materials are available at the following link:

The January 11, 2023, Regular Housing Advisory Commission (HAC) Meeting has been canceled. 

To receive upcoming HAC meeting agendas by email, please send your email address to with subject line: HAC Subscriber List.

COVID19 update: Due to the pandemic, HAC meetings are currently being held by phone conference / webcast only via Teams Live events. Participation instructions for these events are posted to the agenda page at the link above and sent out with the meeting agenda to the HAC Subscriber List. For more information or assistance with online HAC meetings, please call 454-2332 or email