Planning Department Banner, This link takes you back to home page
Building & Safety
Building Design - 2022 Code Criteria

Applicable Codes and Standards

2022 California Building Code (based on the 2021 International Building Code)
2022 California Residential Code (based on the 2021 International Residential Code)
2022 California Electrical Code (based on the 2020 National Electrical Code)
2022 California Plumbing Code (based on the 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code)
2022 California Mechanical Code (based on the 2021 Uniform Mechanical Code)
2022 California Fire Code (based on the 2021 International Fire Code)
2022 California Green Building Standards
2022 California Energy Efficiency Standards
California Building Standards Codes


Seismic Design Categories, SDC, are based on specific site locations. Values for spectral response accelerations, S1 and SS, and damped spectral response accelerations, SD1 and SDS, may be determined using an online tool below. These values, along with the risk category (most buildings in Santa Cruz County will be Risk Category I, II or III, with residences as Risk Category II), will determine the SDC. Most of Santa Cruz County will be SDC D or E. Use site soil Class D, unless a geotechnical report determines otherwise. For structures required to have a structural analysis (non-conventional), See ASCE Standard 7-16, Chapter 11, for complete Seismic Design Criteria.
ATC Tool


Basic wind speed, V (3 second gust),  is 90 mph for Risk Category II buildings (most buildings). Santa Cruz County has various exposure categories, so the design must be site specific. Exposure categories B (urban and suburban areas), C (open terrain with scattered obstructions or areas that are not Exposure B or D) or D (unobstructed areas and ocean front areas) all exist in Santa Cruz County. For structures required to have a structural analysis (non-conventional), See CBC 1609 or ASCE Standard 7-16, Chapter 26, for complete Wind Design Criteria.
ATC Tool

Wildland-Urban Interface

Those areas mapped in a State Responsibility Area (SRA), shall comply with the Materials and Construction Methods for Exterior Wildfire Exposure. Please see Wildland Urban Interface (WUI) Codes and Standards for the Santa Cruz County adopted requirements. 

Climate Zone

Climate Zones 3 and 4 exist within the County. For energy compliance, use Climate Zone 3. See the California Energy Commission and Energy Standards for additional information.